Building a PC

Pandora

This topic is mainly for Chris82 and all other people who have built there own PC once and are willing to help me out.

Considering I'm a real newbie to this, I'll need quite an ammount of help.

First of all, I offcourse already have a full clear tutorial about actually building it, but I'm sure to run into some problems.

First of all I've to choose a PC case. So what should I mainly look for when trying to find one? Then I mean, what should the PC case have. Also, how can I know what type of power suply my PC would need?

Well you do need to make sure that it's fitted for ATX. ATX is the most common motherboard design today and it's quite good. Make sure your motherboard and case are ATX. Not Micro-ATX, not BTX, none of that shit! Get ATX.

You should also look for a roomy case with as many fans/vents as possible. Your case style should ideally be full tower but those are really large and expensive (usually over $100 for entry-level full towers) soz a mod tower should suit you. (It's what I got)

My case has two 80mm fans and runs very nicely. You should get either two 80mm fans, a 120mm fan, or a combo if you can afford it.

You should also look for a case with as many drive bays as you may need. Internal drive bays house your hard drives so look for a case with several

internal 3.5'' drives.

Also never get a case packaged with a power supply, those psus suck. Get a separate one. For a modern gaming PC, you'd be looking at a psu with 500 watts at the very least, and if you get a really beefy video card and several hard drives, I'll look for a 750 watt ATX power supply.

Well, I've been searching and can't find anything else than ATX.

I'll post the one I'm thinking of getting.

Now I'm also planing to get a nVidia Geforce 8800 GTS (640 mb), the version of MSI. And offcourse a real good CPU. I think a duo core, but if it's with in my budget a quad core.

Would 500 Watt be enough?